Voting opens for 2011 Most Popular Driver in NASCAR’s Nationwide and Camping World Truck Series

Thought I’d better bring this to your attention:

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (July 7, 2011) – For the fourth consecutive year, fans can vote online for the 2011 Most Popular Driver in the NASCAR Nationwide Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (Twitter hashtags: #NNSMPD, #NCWTSMPD).

Voting begins today and runs through Nov. 17, prior to the season-ending race for both national series at Homestead-Miami Speedway during Ford Championship Weekend.

This year, fans have dedicated sites on to vote. For the NASCAR Nationwide Series, fans can go to and to for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Fans may vote once per day leading up to the Nov. 17 deadline.

To be eligible to receive votes, drivers must have selected either the NASCAR Nationwide Series or NASCAR Camping World Truck Series to receive 2011 driver championship points. Additionally, drivers must have attempted at least half of each series’ races this season.

The winners will be announced at the 2011 NASCAR Nationwide Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Awards Banquet. The combined post-season gala will again take place in South Florida at the Loews Miami Beach Hotel on Monday, Nov. 21.

With eligibility tied to their selected series for points, a new Most Popular Driver will be crowned in both series this year. Brad Keselowski, the 2010 NASCAR Nationwide Series champion, earned a record-setting third consecutive series Most Popular Driver award via fan vote following last season. Kenny Wallace also has three Most Popular Driver awards in the NASCAR Nationwide Series, though not consecutively. Narain Karthikeyan captured the most votes in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series to earn that series’ Most Popular Driver honor in 2010.

Press Pelease – NASCAR Integrated Marketing Communications

Hamburger Helper Most Passionate Fan contest is looking for your video

The finalists for the NASCAR® National Motorsports Press Association (NMPA) Hamburger Helper® Most Popular Driver Award have been announced. 

The finalists are: Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Jeff Gordon, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Bobby Labonte and Tony Stewart. 

The top 10 vote-getters move on to the “playoff” round of voting.

In conjunction with the top-10 announcement, the campaign also announces the “Hamburger Helper Most Passionate Fan Contest.”  The winner will receive a trip for two to Las Vegas and the opportunity to help present the NMPA Hamburger Helper Most Popular Driver Award to the winning driver at the end of the season in December.  

To enter, fans must submit a 15- to 30-second video by October 20 on, demonstrating why they are Helpers’ number-one fan.  The top five submissions will be posted on the website on October 25, where fans will vote to choose the winner.  Submissions will be judged on passion for the Hamburger Helper brand, originality and creativity, and clarity.  

Meanwhile, race fans can continue to vote once a day for one of the top 10 Most Popular Driver finalists.  The vote count has been reset to zero, so it’s anybody’s race to win.  Voting will conclude November 22 at 11:59 PM CT and the winner will be announced at the NASCAR® NMPA Myers Brothers Luncheon in December in Las Vegas with the help of the winner of the “Hamburger Helper Most Passionate Fan Contest.”

Last season, Dale Earnhardt Jr. earned his seventh consecutive Most Popular Driver Award, which is administered by the NMPA.  Only Earnhardt Jr. and Bill Elliott have won the award seven consecutive times since its inception in 1953. 

For more information on contest details or to vote on the NASCAR® NMPA Hamburger Helper Most Popular Driver Award, visit